China bans British MPs and institutions

China bans British MPs and institutions
China bans British MPs and institutions

BEIJING: China has banned nine individuals and four entities, including five members of the British parliament, for raising human rights abuses in Xinjiang.

According to the World News Agency, in response to the UK’s ban on Chinese officials involved in the inhumane treatment of Uighur Muslims in Xinjiang, China imposed travel and trade restrictions on British MPs and institutions.

China bans British MPs Tom Togandat, Ian Duncan Smith, Neil O’Brien, Tim Luton, and Nusrat Ghani, House of Lords’ David Elton and Helena Kennedy, educationist Joanne Smith Finley and barrister Geoffrey Nice Is.

China has imposed sanctions on four companies, including nine UK members, including China Research Group, the Conservative Party Human Rights Commission, the Uighur Tribunal, and Essex Court Chambers, a leading London firm.

A statement issued by the Chinese Foreign Ministry said that these British individuals and entities had spread accusations of malicious treatment of Uighur Muslims and unfounded information about China.

The Chinese Foreign Ministry statement added that China is committed to safeguarding its national sovereignty, security, and development interests, and warns the United Kingdom not to go further in the wrong direction or to retaliate.

Responding to the ban by China, British Foreign Secretary Dominic Robb said Britain had supported the international community in imposing sanctions on those responsible for human rights abuses. It is well known that the Chinese government bans its critics.

The British Foreign Secretary added that if China wanted to credibly reject allegations of human rights abuses in Xinjiang, it should allow the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights to verify the facts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here